Posted in Favorites, Food, Recipes

Tammy’s French Dip Recipe

French Dip

ingredients 

Boneless Chuck Roast
Boneless Chuck Roast
One chuck roast. Lean is preferred, trim if overly marbled with fat.

HEB Beef Broth 32 oz.
32 oz Beef Broth
32 oz sounds like a lot of liquid for slow cooking but remember that this is the base for the au jus dipping sauce. It is so good there never seems to be enough.

Pioneer Brand French Dip Au Jus Mix
Pioneer Brand French Dip Au Jus Mix
2 packages – this is key, do NOT substitute with other brands.  http://www.pioneerbrand.com/where-to-buy/

HEB 5 for $1 Bakery Bolillos
HEB 5 for $1 Bakery Bolillos
Or other suitable hoagie/sub or ciabatta rolls.

method

Pour the beef broth and au jus mix into the crock pot. Mix well (I use a silicone whisk).  Add beef chuck roast.  Slow cook on low for 6 to 8 hours.

Tear cooked roast apart with fork.  Load up a bakery roll with slow cooked beef and other toppings as desired. I like mayo, but some folks like cheese and/or carmelized onions and peppers.

Serve au jus on the side for dipping.

Author:

"Alex, I'll Take Things Only I Know For $200."

2 thoughts on “Tammy’s French Dip Recipe

    1. It is pretty tasty. And very easy to make. The most work is mixing the au jus mixes into the beef broth.

      Last week was customer service week so my work had a drawing for gift cards (everyone got a card). I got one for $15 to Panera. I didn’t even know they had St. Louis Bread Co down in Texas. I went for breakfast yesterday and got an Egg, Bacon & Cheese sandwich (it was OK, they totally smashed the ciabatta bread in the panini machine. They should have used a slice bread and not a roll). I also picked up a small ciabatta loaf, baguette and a sourdough bowl. I vacuum sealed and froze the latter two for later.

      I then made the French Dip for dinner. I updated the post by adding a picture of my sandwich. The bread also makes a big difference. I would recommend a crusty bakery bread. Using the regular bread, even if it is hoagie rolls doesn’t work as well. Too soft.

Leave a Reply

