Posted in Favorites, Food, Travel, Vacation

St. Louis Style Pizza

I am currently visiting Missouri for the holidays. I can’t get anything close to St. Louis Style pizza on the gulf coast so that has been priority one in the food department on this trip. The defining characteristics are fresh made thin crust and provel cheese. Imo’s Pizza does not count! They use mass produced pizza shells. Yuck! When I was a kid Imo’s made the crust fresh but no one but me seems to even remember that!

First stop was Pirrones Pizzeria. This style is my favorite. Same recipe as Saullo’s. Some people say it is too greasy but I order cheese only and do not have that experience. They load up the toppings so I can imagine that a meat lovers type pizza would be greasy!

Cheese Pizza from Pirrone's
Cheese Pizza from Pirrone’s

Next stop was Tony’s B’s in Fenton, MO. Good pizza is harder to find in South County. But this particular style is a recipe similar to Nick & Elena’s Pizzeria and Serra’s Pizzeria in North County.

Cheese Pizza at Tony B's
Cheese Pizza from Tony B’s

Though it is not St. Louis Style pizza, I prefer Arris’ Pizza when I am at the Lake of the Ozarks. It has a fresh made thin crust and good cheese. It is a greek restaurant so you can get feta cheese but that is not to my taste. Quality mozzarella cheese is fine for me.

Cheese Pizza at Arris'
Cheese Pizza from Arris’

So far that is all that I have had while in Missouri. If I could go to Saullo’s and Serra’s I totally would but not having a car makes it impossible to go to each place.

Author:

"Alex, I'll Take Things Only I Know For $200."

Leave a Reply

