Posted in Favorites, Food, Home, Recipes

Spicy Chicken and Pasta

Today’s dish comes from a newsletter that I got from Bethenny Frankel’s Blog.  It is called Incredibly Easy and Low-Fat Chicken, Pasta, Peppers & Onions.  I won’t repost the recipe since you can get it directly from the web site yourself here:

http://www.bethenny.com/2010/08/02/incredibly-easy-and-low-fat-chicken-pasta-peppers-onions/

UPDATE: On 12/1/13 I checked the above link and the recipe has been removed from Bethenny’s web site. So I pulled it off the newsletter.

Bethenny’s Recipes of the Week
Incredibly Easy and Low-Fat Chicken, Pasta, Peppers & Onions

Serves 6-8

Ingredients:

  •  3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • 1 box whole wheat fusilli pasta
  • 16 oz jar or can of favorite tomato sauce
  • 1 ½ large red onions, sliced
  • 1 ½ large red, orange or yellow peppers, sliced
  • 2 tablespoons of Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • 1 teaspoon red pepper flakes
  • 2 garlic cloves minced
  • 2 ½ teaspoons of salt
  • 2 ½ teaspoons of pepper
  • 3 teaspoons of Italian seasoning
  • 3 tablespoons of fresh chopped parsley

Directions:

  1. Begin by poking the chicken with a fork and adding seasoned salt and pepper on both sides, then cut the breasts into large bite-sized pieces.
  2. In a large non-stick skillet, heat oil over high heat and add chicken.
  3. Cook chicken until lightly brown on both sides (OK if not fully cooked through).
  4. Remove chicken from skillet, reduce heat to medium and in the same skillet add the onion, peppers, garlic, salt, pepper, red pepper flakes, and dried Italian seasoning.  Cook until vegetables begin to soften, about 5 minutes.
  5. In a separate pot, begin to boil water, lightly salted, for the pasta.
  6. Add the tomato sauce to the skillet with the vegetables and add the chicken back in.  Let simmer over low heat for 15 minutes.
  7. Once water is boiling, add pasta, after 11 minutes, or desired tenderness, drain the pasta.
  8. Add pasta to skillet with sauce.
  9. Serve and garnish with the chopped parsley.

I like to prep all my ingredients first whenever I cook because I am not a chef. This method has saved me from accidentally leaving anything out numerous times and relieves any stress that might arise from multitasking.

I’m going to call Bethenny out on this one because the picture of the dish on her web site doesn’t seem to the be the same dish as the recipie. For one thing I see broccoli and snow peas in her dish and neither of those are in the recipe. Also, where’s the tomato sauce? I don’t really see 16 ounces of it in her picture. That being said it is still tasty and I must say quite spicy. This is due in part, I’m sure, to the ingredients called for and the fact that where I live … Seasoned Salt = Tony Chachere’s (whether it’s Creole Seasoning or the hotter More Spice).

UPDATE: On 7/8/12 I checked the web site and the image is changed out to a picture of fresh multi-color bell peppers. 

That being said, in the future I might play around with it because the picture looks delicious and is what made me want to try the recipe in the first place.

The recipe calls for a skillet but I could tell by the amount of chicken to lightly brown that there was no way all of this was going to fit in a 10″ skillet. That’s the largest I have. So I chose to use a 5 quart pot and that worked out well.

I suggest getting the pasta water boiling while you are browning your chicken. Since this makes almost 5 servings that is a whole box of pasta and that’s a lot of water to heat up! Simmer your chicken and veggies in the sauce while you are preparing the pasta. Once the pasta is cooked to the desired tenderness, drain and add to the pot!

Voila!

I wouldn’t say it is “Slap Ya Mama” hot, but you could serve this to your Mexican friends.

Mmm! Mmm!

Author:

"Alex, I'll Take Things Only I Know For $200."

Leave a Reply

