Posted in Favorites, Food, Home, Recipes

Favorite Homemade Sandwich

Fried Egg Sandwich ala Spanglish

Homemade Fried Egg Sandwich

Ingredients:

  • 2 slices of sourdough bread
  • 3 slices of cooked applewood bacon
  • one large egg, fried in a little bit of olive oil
  • one lettuce leaf
  • tomato slices
  • miracle whip (or mayo)

I stole this sandwich off the movie Spanglish with Adam Sandler. I haven’t see the movie in years so in reality it’s probably not even close. But the day I was in the kitchen putting together this creation the sandwich in that movie was my inspiration. It is at heart just a BLT with a fried egg on it. Very simple.

It all starts with the bread, as any great sandwich does. I use sourdough but a good wheatberry bread would be just as tasty. But just as important is the treatment of the bread. I brush melted butter on both sides of the bread and toast the slices in my Foreman grill. If you actually have a panini machine then even better. But I find the Foreman grill gets the job done and is one less appliance. I already have way too many!

I bake my bacon in the oven and use only sweet vine ripened tomatoes. Most places have fresh markets where you can get locally grown veggies which I highly recommend. One, you are helping your neighbor, and two, the food you buy there will hands down taste better than anything you can get at the supermarket.

If you give it a try let me know how you like it!

Author:

"Alex, I'll Take Things Only I Know For $200."

2 thoughts on “Favorite Homemade Sandwich

  1. Love the little guys pics. He is really adorable and you know I dont say that lightly since I am a big dog gal. I love to cook also too bad your uncle is stuck on pizza and lasagna. take cae ,love ya’

    1. I finally learned there is more to life than pizza BUT it will still be 1st place in my heart. I LOVE cheese pizza!!

Leave a Reply

