Posted in Food, Holidays, Recipes

Happy Easter

Happy Easter!

Last night I made Gnocchi and decided to kick it up with some chicken. I found a fabulous pan seared chicken treatment that combines baking and finishing off the chicken by brushing it with a butter slurry and pan searing it.

Since I left St. Louis I have not been able to get frozen Gnocchi. Whole Foods Market and Trader Joe’s are both good places to find frozen gnocchi but we don’t have either of those on the MS Gulf Coast. The closest Trader Joe’s is in Atlanta which is out of the question. The closest Whole Foods is in Metairie (just outside New Orleans).

Making gnocchi from scratch is a huge endeavor. I think I’d rather just drive to the Whole Foods in NOLA. The option of dried (shelf stable) gnocchi is not ideal. But if that’s all you can get then it is better than nothing. Some people don’t like it but I don’t think it’s that bad. The only place local that I have found it is Harry & David and they are totally overpriced. So my search for an online purchasing option led me back home to a small local specialty grocery.

I make a very simple sauce using butter, heavy cream, parmigiano reggiano and digiorno shredded parmesan cheese. I can’t give you measurements because I just eye it. I start off melting my butter and then I add the heavy cream and the cheeses. I melt and mix the sauce over med/low heat. The dried gnocchi is dropped into boiling water and only takes a few minutes before they start popping up to the water’s surface. At that point I use a slotted spoon to scoop them out and add them to sauce. Adding the chicken was an idea I got from Olive Garden’s Chicken Gnocchi Veronese entree.

I gotta tell you that Pan Seared Chicken Technique is fantastic. I would check that out because the possibilities of what you can do with the chicken are limited only by your imagination.

Author:

"Alex, I'll Take Things Only I Know For $200."

Leave a Reply

